The Art of Fielding

imageThis book is not typical of the kind of novel I usually choose but I enjoyed it. It’s the story of the intertwined lives of six people at a fictional college in Wisconsin. What’s unusual is that all six people are given unique personalities and I found that I liked all of them, which doesn’t happen for me often, so kudos to the author for that. It doesn’t hurt that central to the story is the baseball teams’ quest for the college national championship, which they ultimately win, but the achievement is overshadowed by bigger things occurring at the same time. I thought the ending was a bit far-fetched, but I was willing to go along because I had enjoyed the book so much up to that point. This is a pleasantly easy book to read. The words just seem to flow along like a slow moving stream. I found myself looking forward to going to bed with it every night.

About Truman

I find myself on the downside of my sixtieth year, older but not old, wiser but not wise, and still wondering what I want to be when I grow up.
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

